1. 1

  • Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQ’s) which originally formed part of the legislative requirements in terms of the operator competence scheme and the associated Certificates of Technical Competence (COTC). The SQA the sole awarding body for all awards in the sector which fall out-with this arrangement. The SQA is also the awarding body for the customised awards being developed by ICERMS. All awards delivered by the Centre, which is registered as an SQA/WAMITAB vocational training centre, are subject to the quality assurance & CPD regime implemented and managed by the SQA. The Centre can only deliver awards for which it has approval to do so by SQA.

    Waste Management Industry Training & Advisory Board (WAMITAB) WAMITAB is the joint awarding body with the SQA for all SVQ’s falling under the Operator Competence Scheme. The associated COTC’s are awarded by WAMITAB as the waste management industry national training body. WAMITAB also have a similar arrangement with all UK national qualifications authorities. WAMITAB award an International Certificate of Competence to all candidates successfully completing the ICERMS customised award in healthcare waste management and treatment. All vocational training centres involved in the delivery of vocational training awards in the waste management sector, as part of the operator competence scheme, are registered with WAMITAB and subject to the WAMITAB quality assurance and CPD scheme. Assessor and verifiers employed at the centres must be approved by WAMITAB.

  1. 1

  • ICERMS offers a range of vocational training awards for the waste and resource sector where our primary focus is to deliver high quality vocational training to the waste management industry. The Centre has over 15 years’ experience delivering waste management vocational training awards to the waste management industry. Whether you are involved with the management or supervision of hazardous, non-hazardous or inert waste we have a training programme to suit your needs. The Centre offers a range of awards in a number of sub sector areas within the waste industry including:

    • Landfill Operations
    • Waste Transfer Operations
    • Waste Treatment Operations
    • Healthcare Waste Management
    • Recycling Operations
    • Waste Incinerator Operations
    • Cleaning Support Services
    • Civic Amenity Site Operations

    The vocational training courses which we currently offer cover many aspects of waste management including;

    • Environmental Protection
    • Health and Safety
    • Recycling
    • Waste handling
    • Waste Processing
    • Landfill Operations
    • Legislation

    The centre can provide a range of waste management and recycling awards, over four different vocational levels (SVQ 1 to 4). If you need assistance in deciding which award may be best suited to you, or your company, our staff will be more than happy to help you make the right decision. Please feel free to contact us to discuss your needs.

  1. 1